Mary's Books…


work like a woman

A manifesto for change

By most people's standards I would say I’ve had a pretty good career. I’ve reached the top of the ‘ladder’ and been lucky enough to have had a damned good life. But at what cost?

I played the business game for years, where the rules were set by men for men. I was tough and aggressive. I put in long hours, was competitive and resilient, and I suppressed my natural energy, sensitivity and instinct. I worked like this until I couldn’t any more. And then I changed.

My team and I rebuilt my agency Portas on the values that mattered. Collaboration, empathy, instinct and trust: values not always associated with leadership or winning, but which made every one of us feel good. And it worked.

Now I want to share what I’ve learned, and am still learning, to change the way you work. I’ll challenge every one of you – women and men – to make the way we work better, where ever that is, and what ever you’re doing. It’s a change that will see female energy and power as the most valuable currency in today’s new world of work.

Change only happens when we come together. So it’s time to create an unstoppable force to make it happen.

It’s time to #WorkLikeAWoman.

Work Like a Woman is available from Amazon or Waterstones.

Mary's bestselling memoir Shop Girl is also available from Amazon, Waterstones and Hive in hardback and from Amazon Kindle, iBooks, Kobo and Google Play on eBook.

2019 TOUR DATES

Full list below, tickets available here.

Monday 13th May 2019 - Southend Cliffs Pavilion, Palace Theatre

Friday 17th May 2019 - Warwick Arts Centre 

Sunday 19th May 2019 - Barnsley Civic

Monday 20th May 2019 - Sherman Theatre Cardiff

Tuesday 21st May 2019 - Farnham Maltings

Thursday 23rd May 2019 - The Lowry

Friday 24th May 2019 - Buxton Pavilion Arts Centre

Tuesday 28th May 2019 - Worthing Pavilion

Wednesday 29th May 2019 - Nottingham Playhouse

Thursday 30th May 2019 - Shaw Theatre, London

Friday 31st May 2019 - Salisbury Playhouse 

I’ll also be at Edinburgh Festival, date is TBC.

 


mary's other books


 

Mary Live…